Skip to Content

Who We Are

Patrons, Trustees and Staff

The Antarctic Heritage Trust is registered as a charitable entity under the Charities Act 2005 (CC24071) and governed by a board of trustees.

It includes a number of senior Government representatives from Britain, Ireland, United States and New Zealand, heritage and polar agencies and independent trustees chosen for their relevant skills, experience and perspective.

Patron in Chief

His Excellency The Right Honourable Sir Jerry Mateparae GNZM, QSO, Governor General of New Zealand.


June Lady Hillary.

Bob Norman, QSO.


The Rt Hon Paul East CNZM QC. Chairman.  Independent Trustee.

Mr Anthony Wright.  Deputy Chairman.  Director, Canterbury Museum.

HE Jonathan Sinclair, LVO.  British High Commissioner to New Zealand.

Mr Mark Gilbert. United States Ambassador to New Zealand.

Mr Rob Fenwick. Chairman, Antarctica New Zealand.

Ms Niamh McMahon. Honorary Consul General for the Government of Ireland in New Zealand.

Mr Chris Mace CNZM. Independent Trustee.

Mr Mark Stewart PJN (Kerhormat). Independent Trustee.

Prof. Sir David Skegg. The Royal Society of New Zealand.

Mr Brook Barrington. Chief Executive and Secretary, Ministry for Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Bruce Chapman. Chief Executive, Heritage New Zealand.

Mariska Wouters. President, New Zealand Antarctic Society.


Murray Harrington representing PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Staff (New Zealand)

Nigel Watson, Executive Director.

Al Fastier, Programme Manager.

Lizzie Meek, Programme Manager - Artefact Conservation.

Robyn Brunton, Finance Manager.

Paula Granger, Communication and Events Manager.

Helen Keimig, Trust Administrator.

Karen Clarke, Office Administrator.

Consultant (United Kingdom)

Martin Williams, CVO OBE.